Up, up, and away your family goes to the Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum to see the Paper Airplane Guy. John has been making paper airplanes for 40 years and loves to share his passion with kids and get them excited about science. Have little owlets at home that would love to learn about nighttime predators? Bring the kids to Beaverton for a free classroom talk and evening hike all about owls. You can also head over to Tryon Creek for some owling. Looking for an indoor activity? Fans of Good Dog, Carl will want to see author Alexandra Day read from her newest book The Fairy Dogfather.

Suburbs

Paper Airplane Guy
The paper airplane guy, John Collins, is back! At the age of 9, John invented his own plane that flew 150 yards to the other side of a pasture across from his house. From that moment on, he knew that he would be an airplane inventor. He loves to share his passion with kids. Sat. 11:00 am and 2:30 pm (general public shows, RSVP suggested). Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum. McMinnville. Free with admission. All ages. Event details.

Alexandra Day: The Fairy Dogfather
Alexandra Day, the author of Good Dog Carl, reads and signs her new picture book, The Fairy Dogfather, in which 8-year-old Hector summons the aid of a well-dressed and verbose magical dog, which is not quite what he expected. Sat. 2:00 pm. Powell’s Books at Cedar Hills Crossing, Beaverton. Free. All ages. Event details.

Family Movie Night: Dolphin Tale
See Dolphin Tale on the library’s big screen! Popcorn provided, courtesy of Regal Cinema’s Movies on TV Highway. Fri. 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm. Hillsboro Library. Beaverton. Free. All ages. Event details.

Owl Prowl
Watch a slideshow, listen to recordings of owl calls, and see preserved specimens up close. Sat. 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm. Nature Park Interpretive Center. Beaverton. $17/family of three. Young explorers. Event details.

East side

Creative Recycling Workshop
Enjoy a creative recycling craft project with your child, or, if you have an older child, take a break and hang out in Warehouse cafe, use the free wi-fi, or browse at onsite resale Store. Fri. 11:00 am – 12:00 pm. The Warehouse. Free to watch. $5/child. All ages. Event details.

West side

Tryon Nature Walk: The Art of Owling
Join a park naturalist for a free, guided nature hike to explore the forest and stream ecosystems and natural history at Tryon Creek State Natural Area. Topics will vary from week to week but will be appropriate for all ages. Up this week: owls! Parents must accompany kids on all hikes. Sat. 10:00 am – 11:30 pm. Free. All ages. Event details.

— Cheyenne Terbrueggen