Connecticut just took a major step towards helping families. The state recently joined six others (and the District of Columbia) in offering paid family and medical leave.

The state’s senate and house recently approved the bill, but Connecticut workers were still waiting for the governor to sign before rejoicing. Now that wait is officially over!

ADVERTISEMENT

View this post on Instagram

It made me incredibly proud to be surrounded by such good, kindhearted people today as I signed an historic law enacting a paid family and medical leave program in #Connecticut. Supporting the working families of our state will strengthen our economic footing and make Connecticut a stronger place to live, work, and do business. . Adopting this program means that workers who need to take time off for a new baby or recover from illness are not punished financially, and businesses do not risk losing good workers during those emergencies. Regardless of whether a public or private entity administers this program, there will be no profit motive to deny any applicant. . We know working families are the backbone of our state. If they are not financially stable, Connecticut will never be. . #FMLA #PaidLeave #ThankYouCT

A post shared by Governor Ned Lamont (@govnedlamont) on

The new act, which was signed into law by Gov. Ned Lamont on Tuesday, will give private sector employees 12 paid weeks of paid leave to care for a new baby or sick family members. The sliding pay scale isn’t just for salaried employees. It also provides minimum wage workers with up to 95 percent of their would-be earnings, capped at $900 per week.

Along with giving workers paid leave to care for infants and their fam, they can also get an additional two weeks of benefits if they aren’t able to work during pregnancy.

Even though Lamont has already signed the law into effect, employees aren’t eligible to start collecting benefits until Jan. 1, 2022.

—Erica Loop

Featured photo: Isaac Taylor via Pexels

 

RELATED STORIES

This State Just Approved 12-Week Paid Family Leave

This State Will Now Give 12 Weeks of Paid Family Leave to Parents

This State Is Rolling Out 16 Weeks of Paid Family Leave: What Parents Should Know